Alejandro Diaz

Dallas based artist Alejandro Diaz

Alejandro Diaz

Alejandro Diaz

Alejandro Diaz

Where are you from? What is your heritage?

I was born in La Piedad, Michoacan, Mexico.

What is the medium you most commonly work with?

I’ve used acrylics, watercolors, spray paint, and anything I could get my hands on. I mostly use oils now and incorporate everything else, it just felt like the next step to use oils. I am always trying new things so I look forward to working with other mediums also.

img_0327

What tends to inspire you and your work?

I can be inspired by anything. It just comes to me no matter if I am out with friends or just flipping through a magazine. It’s kind of a continuous thing for me. My inspiration can come from many things.

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to the most?

Music plays a big part. I always listen when I’m working. I usually listen to the same set of music for a show. I kind of think of it as my soundtrack for that event.

What food most reminds you of home?

I love Mexican food stands around town. There is a torta stand in La Piedad that I have to visit when I go back, and those places remind me of that.

When you are with family do you speak mostly English or Spanish?

I speak Spanish to my older family members and English with the younger ones.

La Cruz

La Cruz

What do you think you could help raise the profile of young Latino artist in America?

Having shows like this definitely helps. I think that helping people get there name out by any means will help also, you know. Trying to get young Latinos work out at any function I attend, and networking through blogs and websites.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the U. S. and those throughout the hemisphere?

I would say yes. Basically that is how I am apart of this show. I am still growing as an artist and can only hope to get to expand my connections with other artists around the globe.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?

I would like to acknowledge everyone’s hustle out here in Dallas for trying to make an actual art scene in the area. Without them I wouldn’t be where I’m at now. I would also like to thank my family and my crew.

El Coche

El Coche

View More of Alejandro’s work at http://www.sourgrapes13.com/#/alejandrodiaz/4529546784

Leave a comment

Filed under artists

Leave a Reply

