179

179 is a female street influenced artist working in the Seattle area . Her work shows the whimsy and innocence that, when you meet her, is obviously the true character of the artist herself. She will be participating in the “Desmadre: Fresh Latino Perspectives” show in May 2009

One Seven Nine

Where are you from? What is your heritage?
I am a weird combination of Country Mex and City Mex and in
Seattle,there are very few Mexi’s in general; so make sure you don’t
lose me.

What is the medium that you most commonly work in?
I mostly work with a mix of acrylic and gouache. I like the color
palette that comes from combining the 2.

1 What tends to inspire you and your work?
Folklore. Definitely, I love old stories in which animals play trick
on people. Lately I have been into Northwest Native American lore.

If it was not for art I would be………..?
Well, I think I could have been a great many other things. But I’m
really not that concerned with what I could have been as much as I am
content to what I am now.

Do you have any artistic relatives? if so what do they do?
Not really that I know of. But my family has been great. they are
super supportive about my art and what I do. It’s always good to have
a cheer squad at my art shows!

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to most?
It is, definitely. I think my whole life is one big soundtrack. I
listen to a mix between Bossa Nova, Classic Rock and Punk. Astrud
Gilberto meets The Doors and has drinks with the Sonics? Yes, that
would be win.

What food most reminds you of home?
The smell and taste of tortilla dough. The masa that is used in
Tamales. Ibarra Chocolate, my sister would sneak the round discs and
nibble on them like mice. They would last us about a week. it was
gross since we would leave it by our beds to snack on when we though
appropriate. Yeah, good times.

When you are with family do speak mostly in english or espanol?
We speak English. My father who I grew up with for only a short time
knew very little English so he would speak to us in Spanish and we
would answer in English. You know, to teach each other.

What do you think could help raise the profile of young Latino
artists here in America?

Finding role models in the community that are positive influences to
volunteer with after-school programs. I think the inner strength of
Latino and people of color is the family support structure. Community
based organizing built off our knowledge on how to network and work as
a group.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the US and
those throughout the hemisphere?

Our colors.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?
My best art critics, Phil, La Madre & Mari-Achi. They tell me when I
am off track. I can always trust their judgment.

You can see more of 179’s art at http://www.onesevennine.com/

1 Comment

Filed under artists, news

One response to “179

  1. Pingback: 179 interview and new room video! « Hostel Art Collective

Leave a Reply

