Mario Campos

Mario Campos from the farm lands of Sunnyside, WA to the art lands of Los Angeles. Yet he tells me “I work as a janitor at Harvard and at night I solve math problems”. You can see Mario’s arte at “Desmadre: Fresh Latino Perspectives” May 14th Virmillion Gallery Seattle.

Cesar Chavez

Cesar Chavez

Where are you from? What is your heritage?

I’m from Sunnyside, Washington. I’m Mexican American “country style”

What is the medium that you most commonly work in?

Spray cans and pencils are my weapons of choice. After that anything i can break, bend, twist, balance or throw.

datum

What tends to inspire you and your work?

The city, technology, La Raza and women

If it was not for art I would be………..?

Waking up at 2 a.m. to go cut asparagus till 8 a.m. Then hit the cherries till 5p.m. and finish off my evening in a factory trying to keep my eyes open, and hands away from sharp objects. shout out to my hefita!

Do you have any artistic relatives? if so what do they do?

I’m very lucky, in my family we got the dopest pencil artists and Los Hermanos Campos. They were big in the 80s playing musica Norteña and even made an appearance on Johny Canales. Holla!!

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to most?

As of today I have a “Narco Corrido” fetish. I like playing it loud and driving fast in downtown Los Angeles, but usually just beats by preemo or 4 second loops that play for hours.

cock

What food most reminds you of home?

Apples, pears, cherries, chavacanes and chicharones…

When you are with family do speak mostly in English or espanol?

I speak English to the siblings, Spanish to the elders and we speak in “izzles” to code it up

What do you think could help raise the profile of young Latino artists here in America?

First individuality. Second forums like this one, thanks again for giving me the opportunity to display my talents. I think its very important for young Latino artist to feel comfortable letting their culture shine uninhibited by American taboos.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the US and those throughout the hemisphere?

We all grew up watching Don Francisco, El Chavo Del 8 and now we all got myspace but to go deeper. I’d like to think we all have the need to want to inspire other artist and a need to feel accepted in our own community.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?

Thank you for the invite, big ups to La Familia CAMPOS, De Cueramaro, Guanajuato, MEX.

methdeath_001

You can see more of Mario Campos’ work at www.mygiftismycurse.com/

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mario Campos

  1. Blanca

    cueramaro all the way 😀

Leave a Reply

