Vincent Pacheco

Vincent Pacheco is a mixed-media artist from California, pursuing themes of place and family in his work. He is currently living and working in Seattle, WA where he is the co-founder of WAFA, an artist collective dedicated to the support and development of emerging artists. Vincent will be showing in the “Desmadre Arte : Fresh Latino Perspectives” art show at Vermillion Gallery opening May 14, 2009

pacheco3


Where are you from? What is your heritage?

I come from a family of outlaws and revolutionaries. I am a 3rd generation Mexican-American, born in Redwood City, CA. My Grandfather was a captain in the Mexican Mafia and a drug dealer in San Francisco’s Mission District. His life has dictated the path my family has taken over the years, including my own. Before his time, my Great Grandfather was a soldier who fought alongside Pancho Villa, until being deported by the Mexican Government into the United States. This is how we came to be in this country.

pacheco2
What is the medium that you most commonly work in?

Mixed-media collages

What tends to inspire you and your work?
I am inspired by my family, and the curiosity of other dreamers.

If it was not for art I would be………..?
Free of self-doubt, depression, and true knowledge

Do you have any artistic relatives? if so what do they do?
I seem to be the only member of my family dabbling in the arts

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to most?
I have great difficulty creating my work when not listening to the music I love. I’ve been listening to Nick Drake a lot these days.

What food most reminds you of home?
Albondigas!

When you are with family do speak mostly in english or espanol?
My grandparents did not pass down the language in an attempt to assimilate their kids into US society. Learning Spanish is an undertaking I will have to pursue on my own.

pacheco What do you think could help raise the profile of young Latino artists here in America?
I think more of us must be given a chance to participate in the arts, first and foremost. Notoriety is secondary, and will ultimately come in the end.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the US and those throughout the hemisphere?
I feel like there is this yearning or searching in the work of Latino artists in the US. For what, I don’t know. But it seems to me as though we are trying to make a connection back home, wherever that may be.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?
I would like to thank my father, James Salustiano Pacheco, Jr.

pacheco4
For more information on Vincent Pacheco visit www.mudchickenart.com

Leave a comment

Filed under artists, culture, news

Leave a Reply

