Albert Reyes

Albert Reyes has been known to spit art on his hands and knees with a mouth full of beer in the middle of the street. He has also shown in a gallery along with a painting by Picasso. These same strange dualities and juxtapositions are highly prevalent in his work, which tackles both conceptual and graffiti art. Recognized for his ubiquitous “GIVE” tag, Albert has a distinctive artistic approach inspired not only by street art, comic books, and American pop culture; but also by contemporary and classical “high art”. Many of his drawings and illustrations incorporate everything from icons of corporate America to Hollywood stars to mass media to politics to consumerism. New works by Albert Reyes will be at “Desmadre: Fresh Latino Perspectives” May 14th at Vermillion Gallery Seattle.

img_5770

Where are you from? What is your heritage?

I was born Los Angeles. I think that I’m German and Mexican. But where am I really from I have no idea, I guess I’ll find out when I’m dead.

What is the medium that you most commonly work in?

Graphite pencils on book covers, but that’s going to change.

reyes_endwar315

What tends to inspire you and your work?

Other artists, friends, enemies. Sex, politics, religion.

If it was not for art I would be………..?

Dead.

Do you have any artistic relatives? if so what do they do?

My brother. He makes music, acts, directs, and has sex with his girlfriend.

2262847857_0c124d90c3

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to most?

Yes. I listen to Nine Inch Nails, Lil Wayne, and Ladytron.

What food most reminds you of home?

Soft tacos.

When you are with family do speak mostly in english or espanol?

English, but I cuss at them in Espanol.

fullpage1

What do you think could help raise the profile of young Latino artists here in America?

Obama should give us a lot of money. So we can build homes for the homeless, cure cancer, shit like that.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the US and those throughout the hemisphere?

Yes. We are all connected by a greater force than ourselves, and I don’t want to call it God so let’s call it Zimbabwe.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?

All the people who support and inspire my work. They know who they are and they probably have my artwork hanging in their bathroom, above their bed, or on their living room wall. Also, I want to thank Zimbabwe.

2513686683_2c279f88e1

You can see more of Albert Reyes arte at Pimplywimp.com

Leave a comment

Filed under artists, news

Leave a Reply

