Alejandro Dzul

Not only is Alejandro an airbrush artist par excellence, he is also Dzul studio’s front man providing the marketing, business and team direction.He had the artistic aye at an early age. He’s been drawing since, and the more he did, the more he wanted to keep learning different mediums to express himself. When he began learning airbrush many years ago, he found it opened him up to a new outlet of artistic expression.While it’s hard to categorize Alejandro’s art as a specific style, he describes it as “neo-twist-generation”-the melting of the hottest things in art into one innovative rendering. He credits his artistic influences, to his life style, street art, tattoo art, and really, all great art in general. His passion for art isn’t limited to a single form. He’s also an accomplished graphic artist, photographer, and will be creating a future clothing line. Whatever artistic medium Alejandro works in, he loves the outcome of something that has never been tried before, and puts a new twist on whatever he creates. You can see new works by Alejandro Dzul at “Desmadre: Fresh Latino Perspectives” at Vermillion Gallery Seattle.

image-for-vermillion

Where are you from? What is your heritage?

I’m from Anaheim CA, My heritage is Mexican

What is the medium that you most commonly work in?

Photography, airbrush, and digital graphics

alex-dzul13-copy

What tends to inspire you and your work?

As an Artist I get inspired easily by just about anything unique at any different time; by life itself, people, colors, sounds, music, and art of any medium. The simple idea of showcasing and exhibiting things that I like and how I view them or I can portray them gets me inspired to create works that show how I feel, the way I think or view subjects and at times just simple dreams or illusions. Also I’m inspired to be paid to create and artistically express the views and ideas of others.

If it was not for art I would be………..?

If it weren’t for art, I would be doing big business!!

Do you have any artistic relatives? If so what do they do?

The majority of my relatives are very artistic, my brother Smiley is not only a top notch and well know tattoo artist in the Seattle area but also has a great natural gifted talent for airbrush and traditional art mediums. My Two Sisters Catalina & Elizabeth are great piercing artists. My older brother Alvaro is also a great traditional illustrator and tattoo artist.

dzul_cholos

Is music part of your creative process? What do you listen to most?

Music is not a main component of my creative process, I’d rather listen most to my own internal musical thoughts. Sometimes outside music may stir me away from my original thinking. But I do listen to classical music sometimes when I’m creating works of art it as it helps me to focus and relax while I’m working.

What food most reminds you of home?

Home made Nopales salad, (mmmmn I should learn how to prepare one of those), home made authentic Guacamole, green salsa, and enchiladas or enfrijoladas reminds me of home.

When you are with family do speak mostly in English or Español?

puro Español at home, Spanglish with my extended family and English for business.

mexican-arte-photo21

What do you think could help raise the profile of young Latino artists here in America?

I think being aware of how we are perceived by others within the culture and society not only as young Latino Artists but as young Latinos in general will give us a better sense on how to raise our profile. We young Latinos, I feel, we have the duty to stand up and express our selves on issues that surround our community of today and showcase and exhibit our own points of views, customs and culture. The beauty and reflections of our selves needs to shine through different mediums whether visual or audio. No one but our selves has the power to raise our profiles and make an impact and effect on the status quo.

Is there a connection between Latino artists here in the US and those throughout the hemisphere?

I believe that there is a very strong connection between Latino artists here in the US and Latino Artists through out the hemisphere. The various Latino artists works of art I have seen personally seem to reflect some of the same issues that we are faced with today.

Anybody you would like to thank or acknowledge?

I would like to thank anyone and everyone who has supported, found beauty or meaning in my work within this Desmadre. And would also like to thank my big familia!

mexican-theme1

You can see more of Alejandro Dzul’s arte at www.dzul.com

3 Comments

Filed under artists, news

3 responses to “Alejandro Dzul

  1. whos this guy?

    If it was not for art I would be………..?

    If it weren’t for art, I would be doing big business!!

    fo sho!!

  2. Pingback: Topics about Anaheim » Archive » Alejandro Dzul « Desmadre Arte

  3. Pingback: Topics about Latino | Alejandro Dzul « Desmadre Arte

Leave a Reply

